Twaddle & Twak

Rants, Raves and Everything Else!

Mommy Moments June 28, 2010

Filed under: family,Motherhood,Parenting,Uncategorized — natalian @ 6:34 pm
Tags:

To keep the fine balance of sanity in our home, especially during these extremely long school holidays, we have something called “quiet time” which starts around 1pm when Wee One starts hitting his peak of  exhaustion after a full morning of running around trying to copy his older brother.  Eldest, sits quietly in his room ‘reading’ a pile of his books and Wee One, after a bit of protesting, heads off to the land of nod.  I escape to my room and gleefully pick up my book, enjoying the few moments I have off duty as “Supermom”!

Yesterday, Eldest decided that instead of reading, art was the order of the afternoon. 

With my nose firmly in my book I heard a strange shuffling noise at my bedroom door and a little voice announcing I had ” Post!”.

Under my door, I found a folded piece of paper, decorated with butterfly on the front. 

“What a beautiful butterfly!” I exclaimed.  “Is this for me?”

“Open it up Mommy!  Open it up!” replied the little voice at the door.

Inside, in his best 6-year-old scrawl was ” I love U M m” and his name written below.

So we left out an all important “o” to complete my name but as it was his first  attempt at a card, not instigated by a teacher around Mothers Day, this was the best present I could have received!  It was one of those precious “Mommy Moments” where you feel like all the nose wiping, sandwich making, juice pouring and the many other duties one performs daily are all worth it!

I hugged him tightly, praised his socks off and placed the special card next to my bed on top of my book pile.

Today, I received an additional three cards and  I am running out of space!

 

2 Responses to “Mommy Moments”

  1. Pete Says:

    Brilliant. Nothing like a bit of positive affirmation to make you feel good!

  2. Kit Says:

    It’s lovely to get those cards – and hard to throw even one of the many hundreds of the ‘I love you Mums’ away, five years later! Youngest was most put out when we worked out that they’ve had three weeks of holiday and only have two weeks left, today.


Leave a Reply

