Twaddle & Twak

Rants, Raves and Everything Else!

Flagtastic! June 7, 2010

Filed under: South Africa,Uncategorized — natalian @ 7:38 am
Tags: ,

I only really cry if something moves me on a deep emotional level, emphasis on deep. So the odd movie or book can move me to tears, however this morning it was a flag.

My country has brought me to tears many times due to crime, corruption and the poverty that exists in our society, but this morning I was moved to tears by national pride.

We, South Africa, are about to kick off the 2010 FIFA Soccer World Cup and although we can boast new stadiums, it is the people of South Africa, that have moved me.

For the first time, in many years, South Africans are uniting with national pride. Yes, we are supporting Bafana Bafana – our national football team, but most of all I think South Africans are proud to be South Africans and want the world to know it.

Driving my children to school this morning nearly every second car and taxi had a South African flag on it and houses have South African flags tied to their fences.

This morning I felt my eyes well up with tears, because today I am proudly South African and can only wish that we, as a country, can continue with this unity from 2010 and beyond.

 

3 Responses to “Flagtastic!”

  1. Kit Says:

    It’s great that everyone is so excited and proud. We’re slightly out of the fervour here on the farm, but our local Spar has all the staff in rainbow wigs and crazy hats every Friday, so I get a dose of it there… except the till staff were complaining about the wigs itching by the third Friday!

  2. Pete Says:

    I know what you mean. After weeks of spotting the occasional flag and mirror-socks on cars, yesterday there was a flood of them. Some cars (in the posh suburbs) prefer the English flag (hah – snobs) and some flags carry an SA flag and that of Germany or Italy or whoever. Also made me tear up a bit. Great to see the “gees”!

  3. There is something about one’s flag waving in the wind…


Leave a Reply

