Twaddle & Twak

Rants, Raves and Everything Else!

99 Days And The FIFA World Cup. March 3, 2010

Filed under: South Africa,Uncategorized — natalian @ 11:15 am
Tags: ,

Yesterday, Eldest went off to school with his “Vuvuzela”  and a South African Flag sticking out of his school bag because South Africa has started counting down the last 100 days till the start of the FIFA World Cup and his school was having a special assembly to celebrate.

The stadiums have been built, the merchandise is everywhere and we have been informed, that as parents, we will have an extended school holiday period so that we can all bask in the FIFA World Cup frenzy that is expected to take hold of South Africa! (Note the sarcasm in my voice – pity I’m not getting a rebate on my school fees!)

I don’t like crowds.  During the Christmas period I hit the shops and malls a half an hour before they open so that I can be the first in and out, thereby beating the masses.  So when Hubby suggested applying for Soccer World Cup tickets, I was more than a little reluctant.  He won me over eventually with the “once in a lifetime” argument and how it would be an experience I would never forget.  So I decided to live a little.   We applied for the first game to be held here in Durban, which happens to be Germany against Australia, and a few other matches.  We were successful on only one application and that was  for Germany’s first game.  So it may not be to watch Bafana Bafana, my Country’s team, but its the next best thing. 

Now I  need to brush up on the German National Anthem before June!

 

One Response to “99 Days And The FIFA World Cup.”

  1. Kit Says:

    My husband also thought we should go to a game with the kids, once in a lifetime etc, until he found out the price of the tickets here… we’re going to get DSTV reconnected instead!


Leave a Reply

