Twaddle & Twak

Rants, Raves and Everything Else!

SAFA Style! June 27, 2008

Filed under: South Africa — natalian @ 8:00 pm
Tags:

I have ranted and raged. I have purged myself of my anger towards the negativity surrounding my country and I have decided it is time to turn the tides and focus on the good.

What I love about South Africans is their sense of humour.  There is always someone looking at the lighter side of a dark situation and able to poke fun at it.  Our local comedians do a fabulous job!

I love the way in which South Africans pull together for causes close to their hearts.  Right now close friends of mine are part of a fund raising event for the Starfish Foundation.  There are two homes that I am aware of in Durban North, KZN, that are taking in abandoned babies and ladies who volunteer their time to give these little souls love and attention.  I applaud you ladies!  Tomorrow night the community of Amanzimtoti are pulling together to “Rock for Rhys” , a little boy who has been born with physical restrictions and his young single father who it tirelessly fund raising for the operations he needs to lead a normal life.  I admire this young father’s commitment and courage and applaud the local community of Amanzimtoti who are supporting him and his son to achieve their goal.

South African wine…. need I say more.  As it is winter I am enjoying the odd glass of red and one of my all time favourites is Backsberg Pinotage. 

South African Pride.  Although it goes through ebbs and flows you will find that no matter where South Africans choose to live they will always be “Proudly South African”.  Nothing beats standing in a rugby stadium and singing “Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrica” at an international game.  I cry every time.

South Africa – the landscape.  No matter where you are in South Africa our landscape is breathtaking. A few of my favourites is the majestic Drakensberg, the view of Table Mountain from Blouberg Strand, the smell of fynbos, the Eastern Capes long white beaches, Knysna Forests, the fiery red sunsets of the Free State and the beauty of our wildlife.

South African food.  It is very diverse due to our many cultural influences but nothing beats a good South African braai with potato salad, baked beans and garlic bread or a warm Bobotie on a cold winters evening.

I also came across this website which I found very uplifting, www.sagoodnews.co.za.  It is time we focus on the good things happening in our country and been done by our South Africans!

I know things are not ‘normal’ in our country and I am not going to stick my head in the sand and pretend that it is but the message I want to get out today is that no matter how bad things may appear to be we can’t let it take away the good that still exists. 

So, I’m going to light my braai, raise my glass of red, pump Johnny Clegg out my cd player and do it SAFA Style!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

